skip to primary navigationskip to content

The Tripos

The undergraduate course, or Music Tripos, consists of three parts: Part IA, Part IB and Part II. The normal programme for an undergraduate who intends to spend three years reading music is as follows:

  • Part IA of the Tripos at the end of the first year;
  • Part IB at the end of the second Year;
  • Part II at the end of the third year.

The attainment of honours in Part IB is an essential qualification for taking Part II.

Study Music at Cambridge