skip to primary navigationskip to content

Colloquia Michaelmas Term 2012

PM, Wednesday 10 October
Katherine Butler Schofield (King’s College, London)
The social history of North Indian song collections, c. 1800: Lucknow, Delhi, Hyderabad.

PM, Wednesday 17 October
Danuta Mirka (University of Southampton)
Between eyes and ears: Music theory “old” and “new”

PM, Wednesday 24 October
Eduardo Aubert (Newton Society Fellow in the Faculty of Music; Emmanuel College, Cambridge)
Cur notatur? Musical notation in early Medieval society

PM, Monday 29 October
Robert Levin (Harvard University), CRASSH Humanitas Visiting Professor in Chamber Music 2012
Lecture-Recital 1: Improvising Mozart

PM, Tuesday 30 October
Robert Levin (Harvard University), CRASSH Humanitas Visiting Professor in Chamber Music 2012
Lecture-Recital 2: Composing Mozart

PM, Wednesday 31 October
Robert Levin (Harvard University), CRASSH Humanitas Visiting Professor in Chamber Music 2012
Open Rehearsal with Robert Levin and AAM
This event will be followed by a ticketed public performance at 8 PM in the West Road Concert Hall. Please see http://www.crassh.cam.ac.uk/events/2082/ for further details.

PM, Wednesday 7 November
Marion Kant (Pembroke College, Cambridge)
The Reigen – to dance or to sing? Movement and music in the mid-19th century

PM, Tuesday 13 November
Eduardo Aubert (Newton Society Fellow in the Faculty of Music; Emmanuel College, Cambridge)
Cur notatur? Musical notation in early Medieval society

PM, Wednesday 14 November
Karen Wise and Mirjam James (CMPCP, University of Cambridge)
Creative performers – creative performances: Constructs and processes

PM, Tuesday 20 November
Donald Wort Lecture Series 2012, Lecture 1
David Huron (Ohio State University)
Animals at Heart: Emotion and Motivation

Wednesday 21 November
No colloquium.

PM, Thursday 22 November
Donald Wort Lecture Series 2012, Lecture 2
David Huron (Ohio State University)
Take a Sad Song and Make it Better

PM, Wednesday 28 November
Robin Orr Lecture 2012, a lecture-recital by Roy Howat
Roy Howat (Royal Academy of Music)

Faculty of Music on Twitter