skip to primary navigationskip to content

Collegium Musicum


Patrons: Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Sir Roger Norrington
Artistic Director: Margaret Faultless
Associate Director: Martin Ennis
Student President: Rachel Stroud

The Cambridge University Collegium Musicum is a vibrant ensemble that invites students to experience historical performance, giving them the rare opportunity to perform on period instruments and learn historical performance techniques.


The ensemble was launched in 2006, when the Faculty of Music commissioned copies of baroque instruments from leading makers in this country and abroad with a vision to ignite a passion for early music in the next generations of musicians and thinkers. These instruments are made available to interested students, who then receive coaching in historical performance techniques and perform regularly under the direction of Margaret Faultless, an internationally-renowned Baroque violinist, and head of Historical Performance at the Royal Academy of Music.


Collegium Musicum aims to push the boundaries of performance expectations, giving daring and energetic performances in some of Cambridge’s best performance spaces. Recent projects have included a semi-staged performance of John Blow's Venus and Adonis and a complete Brandenburg Concerto Cycle in the Round Church, a conductor-less performance of Bach’s St John Passion with Nicholas Mulroy and the University Chamber Choir in St John’s College Chapel and Girton College Hall, and a performance of Bach’s Christmas Oratorio in King’s College Chapel. The group also regularly collaborates with other professional groups and musicians, including His Majesty's Sagbutts and Cornetts and an annual side-by-side workshop with the Academy of Ancient Music directed by Richard Egarr.

Our 2017–2018 season will begin with a spectacular celebration of choral and instrumental works by Purcell in West Road Concert Hall. In February we will return to St John's Divinity School for our popular annual performance in a dynamic programme of music for one to four violinists. We are also delighted to have been granted permission to produce a semi-staged version of Handel’s Acis and Galatea in the magnificent Senate House on 13 March 2018, in celebration of the 300th Anniversary of the opera’s first performance.

Collegium Musicum highlights 2017–18 >>