skip to content

Faculty of Music


Ibragimova directs Symphonies and Concertos by Haydn and Mozart

Haydn Violin Concerto No. 1 in C major (c. 1769)

Haydn Symphony No. 45 in F sharp minor ‘Farewell’ (1772)

Mozart Symphony No. 10 in G major (1770)

Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major ‘Turkish’ (1775)

Alina Ibragimova, director & violin

FOLLOWING her acclaimed debut with the AAM in 2012, Alina Ibragimova returns in a programme exploring the giants of the classical repertoire. Haydn and Mozart revolutionised the musical landscape – but they both had a lively sense of humour, and this concert features some of their wittiest works.

Haydn’s ‘Farewell’ symphony was written for the Hungarian holiday palace of his employer, and ends with just two players on stage. His patron, Prince Esterházy, got the hint: after a long summer, the home-sick musicians were released back to their families in Austria the next day.

Mozart’s tenth symphony brims with optimism and warmth, inspired by the composer’s first trip to Italy. The ‘Turkish’ concerto earns its name from the Eastern flavour of the finale (including the string players using the wooden part of the bow rather than the hairs), and provides a fitting end to a night of light-hearted music making.

Free AAM Explore pre-concert talk at 6.30pm, hosted by Tom Service (The Guardian and BBC Radio 3)

TICKETS: £14, £20, £27 (concessions available) and £3 for AAMplify members, available from Cambridge Corn Exchange. Box office tel: 01223 357851; email:; online: or from

Wednesday, 23 October, 2013 - 19:30 to 22:30
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall