skip to content

Faculty of Music


Haydn String Quartet Op. 76 No. 5
Schubert String Quartet in A minor (‘Rosamunde’)
Smetana String Quartet No. 1 (‘From My Life’)

We begin the series with an effervescent late Haydn gem and then plunge into the darker worlds of Schubert and Smetana. The Schubert ‘Rosamunde’ has long been a favourite in the repertoire and Smetana’s autobiographical First Quartet charts the progress of his life from carefree youth to a maturity when he was plagued (like Beethoven) by tinnitus.

TICKETS: @26, £24 (OAP), £12 (registered disabled), £5 (students and under 16s). Tickets over £10 will incur a £2.50 booking fee, and those under £10 will incur a £1.50 fee. Available from Cambridge Corn Exchange and City Centre Box Office, 2 Wheeler Street, Cambridge. Box Office tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Wednesday, 15 October, 2014 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall