skip to content

Faculty of Music


Wednesday, 5 April 2017
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall
Free pre-concert talk at 6.30pm

Bach Reconstructed

J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D (original version for strings and continuo)
J.S. Bach Cantata No. 42: Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats
J.S. Bach Sinfonia from Cantata No. 49: Ich geh und suche mit Verlangen
J.S. Bach Mass No. 3 in G minor

Robert Howarth, director & harpsichord
Mary Bevan, soprano
Reginald Mobley, countertenor
John Mark Ainsley, tenor
Matthew Brook, bass

Concluding the season's focus on J.S. Bach, this concert explores another side of his creative process. Bach certainly knew a good musical idea when he heard one, and in common with many of his contemporaries he reused many of them in later works.

While we can only speculate on the reasons for the constant recycling, it creates some fascinating contrasts and connections that are explored in this programme directed by Robert Howarth. By rescoring existing pieces for different forces or even assembling larger works from smaller ones, the very best of Bach's music could flourish in a variety of guises.

TICKETS: £33–£15; concessions: £31–£13; AAMplify members: £5. Available from Cambridge Live Tickets. T: 01223 357851; E:; W:

Wednesday, 5 April, 2017 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7:30pm, West Road Concert Hall