skip to content

Faculty of Music


Alison Balsom Recital

Jay Richardson (composer in residence) he loves the sun and the sun loves him.
Honegger Intrada for Trumpet and Piano
Hindemith Sonata
Schubert Impromptu in G flat major, D.899 No.3 [piano solo]
Enescu Legende
Poster/Balsom The Thoughts of Dr. May
Brahms Horn Trio in E-flat major (transcribed Balsom)

Alison Balsom, trumpet
Tom Poster, piano
Becky Smith, trombone

Alison Balsom has cemented an international reputation as one of classical music’s great ambassadors and is one of the most distinctive musicians on the international circuit today.

For this perfectly balanced recital of pieces new and old, she is joined by guest trombonist Becky Smith and by pianist Tom Poster, who collaborated with her on composing The Thoughts of Dr May.

Please note: this is an additional event to the eight concerts making up the Cambridge Classical Concert Series.


he loves the sun and the sun loves him
Our new composer in residence Jay Richardson has written a piece for Alison Balsom which will be performed by Alison with young Cambridgeshire Music brass players.

This performance of Jay's piece is part of our commitment to developing the next generation of classical composers and musicians through educations projects, funded by the generosity of our Create supporters. We are very pleased to be continuing our work with Jay Richardson, who last year wrote a piece performed by Esther Yoo with the Philharmonia Orchestra and young Cambridgeshire Music players, conducted by Vladmir Ashkenazy.

he loves the sun and the sun loves him is a love poem to the simple beauty, warmth and resonance of brass, inspired by Christopher Smart's religious poem Jubilate Agno.

TICKETS: £24.50, £20.50; students and under 16s: £12.50; under 26s: £12.50. Available from

Tuesday, 21 February, 2017 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, Cambridge Corn Exchange