skip to content

Faculty of Music


At Lunch 3 2014–15

Jacqueline Shave and Miranda Dale, violins
Clare Finnimore and Catherine Musker, violas
Caroline Dearnley, cello

Beethoven String Quintet in C major, Op. 29: ‘The Storm’
Ben Comeau (Winner of Cambridge University Composers Workshop) New work (world première tour)
Vaughan Williams Phantasy Quintet

Vaughan Williams’ Phantasy for string quintet, which displays his distinctive and expressive style, was dedicated to William Wilson Cobbett, whose famous competition encouraged young composers to write chamber music. Winner of our own Cambridge University Composers Workshop, Ben Comeau’s work receives its premiere and we hear Beethoven’s transitional and tumultuous quintet ‘The Storm’.

AT LUNCH TICKETS: £9, (£6 for 2014–15 subscribers to Britten Sinfonia’s Cambridge evening concert series), £3 (students and under 18s). Available from tel: 01223 357851; web:

Tuesday, 10 February, 2015 - 13:00 to 14:15
Event location: 
1.00pm, West Road Concert Hall