skip to content

Faculty of Music


Britten Sinfonia At Lunch Two 2015–16

Julia Doyle, soprano
Marios Argiros, oboe
Jacqueline Shave and Miranda Dale, violins
Clare Finnimore, viola
Caroline Dearnley, cello
Maggie Cole, harpsichord

Bach Gott versorget alles Leben from Cantata BWV187
Bach Seufzer, Tranen, Kummer, Not from Cantata BWV21
Ligeti Continuum
Anna Clyne This Lunar Beauty (world premiere tour)
Pärt Fratres (for string quartet)
Scarlatti arr. Sciarrino Due arie notturne dal campo

A pre-occupation with texture permeates this programme, beginning with two arias from the grand master of counterpoint, J. S. Bach. Ligeti’s Continuum tests not only the limits of the soloist but also the exhilarating knife-edge between hearing individual notes and continuous sound. A world premiere from Grammy-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music, Anna Clyne, whose music seeks to explore resonant soundscapes and propelling textures, completes the journey from the baroque to present day.

2.15pm, Foyer of the West Road Concert Hall
In Conversation

The composer Anna Clyne talks about her new piece This Lunar Beauty with Tim Watts (Faculty of Music, University of Cambridge) and performers from Britten Sinfonia in a post-concert discussion. Free to ticket holders.

TICKETS: available from Cambridge Live Tickets. Tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Tuesday, 19 January, 2016 - 13:00 to 14:15
Event location: 
1.00pm, West Road Concert Hall