skip to content

Faculty of Music


Britten Sinfonia At Lunch 1 2013-14

Jacqueline Shave, violin
Clare Finnimore, viola
Caroline Dearnley, cello
Huw Watkins, piano

Mozart Adagio from Violin Sonata in E Flat K481
Lutoslawski Duo for viola and cello
Sally Beamish New Work (world premiere tour)
Faure Piano Quartet No.2 in G minor

Britten Sinfonia’s acclaimed At Lunch series begins its 2013-14 season with one of the pinnacles of Fauré’s chamber output, his superbly crafted Second Piano Quartet. The quartet strikes a genuinely equal balance amongst the four instrumentalists, three of whom will also give the world premiere of a new work for string trio by Scottish-based composer Sally Beamish. Renowned for their adventurous but thoughtful performances Britten Sinfonia complete the programme with a movement from one of Mozart’s Violin Sonatas and Lutosławski’s Duo for viola and cello whose centenary is celebrated in 2013.

 TICKETS available from the Cambridge Corn Exchange. Box office tel: 01223 357851; email:; online:

Tuesday, 17 December, 2013 - 13:00 to 14:00
Event location: 
1.00pm, West Road Concert Hall