skip to primary navigationskip to content

Britten Sinfonia - At Lunch 1

When Dec 02, 2014
from 01:00 PM to 02:15 PM
Where 1.00pm, West Road Concert Hall
Add event to calendar vCal

At Lunch 1 2014-15

Emer McDonough, flute
Nicholas Daniel, oboe
Joy Farrall, clarinet
Stephen Bell, horn
Sarah Burnett, bassoon

Michael Berkeley Re-Inventions
Crawford Seeger Suite for wind quintet
Patrick John Jones (OPUS 2014 Winner) New work (World premiere tour)
Nielsen Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, French Horn & Bassoon, Op. 43

Recognised as Denmark’s greatest composer, Carl Nielsen’s fondness for wind instruments is closely related to his love of nature and in his quintet he attempted to emphasise the rustic characteristics of each instrument. He was inspired to write the quintet after hearing Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for wind and in the same vein Michael Berkeley’s Re-Inventions are based on the famous two part Inventions of JS Bach. Completing this lunchtime programme we hear the premiere of a new work by the winner of OPUS2014, Britten Sinfonia and Wigmore Hall’s open call for submissions from unpublished composers.

TICKETS: £9, (£6 for 2014-15 subscribers to Britten Sinfonia’s Cambridge evening concert series), £3 (students and under 18s). Available from tel: 01223 357851; web: