skip to content

Faculty of Music



Nicholas Daniel, oboe/director
Jacqueline Shave, violin/director

Mozart Adagio for cor anglais and string trio, K580a
Gyorgy Kurtag arr. Thomas Adès In Memoriam Andras Mihaly
John Adams Shaker Loops
Tavener Kaleidoscopes

John Tavener’s theatrical oboe concerto, Kaleidoscopes, written for and premiered by Britten Sinfonia and Nicholas Daniel in 2006, is a musical mosaic, featuring four string quartets and percussion. Tavener’s greatest musical hero, Mozart opens the programme with his beautifully poignant Adagio and the programme is completed by John Adams thrilling and rhythmically powerful Shaker Loops and an arrangement by Thomas Adès of Kurtag’s spacial memorial to Andras Mihaly with musicians placed around the auditorium.

6.30pm: In Conversation
Nicholas Daniel and Jacqueline Shave discuss the programme.

Supported by the Friends of Britten Sinfonia.

TICKETS: £30, £25, £15. Please book tickets through Cambridge Corn Exchange box office on 01223 357851 or via the Corn Exchange website

Friday, 3 October, 2014 - 19:30 to 22:30
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall