skip to content

Faculty of Music


The Schubert Ensemble

Frank Bridge Phantasy Quartet
Cheryl Frances-Hoad The Whole Earth Dances (2016)
Jeremy Thurlow Sea-cradling (world premiere, dedicated to Juliet Abrahamson)
Ralph Vaughan Williams Piano Quintet in C minor

The 2016 Festival opens with a celebration of 20th and 21st century British string music. Royal Philharmonic Society award-winners The Schubert Ensemble present a varied programme for strings and piano featuring beloved works by Bridge and Vaughan Williams alongside the second performance of a new piano quintet by Cheryl Frances-Hoad and the world premiere of a new string quartet by Cambridge composer Jeremy Thurlow commissioned by the Friends of CSM and dedicated to longtime former Festival Director Juliet Abrahamson.

“They demand superlatives.”
(Sunday Times)

“Outstanding in every respect.”

“A supernatural degree of polish.“
(Los Angeles Times)

TICKETS: £10, £15, £20; concessions £8, £13, £18; students/under 26s half price; and unwaged £5 available on the door and via Cambridge Live Tickets. Tel: 01223 357851

Friday, 15 July, 2016 - 19:30 to 22:30
Event location: 
Trinity College Chapel