skip to content

Faculty of Music


Prof Robert Pascall (Emeritus Professor, University of Nottingham)

‘Recapturing Brahms’s performances of Bach’s Cantatas’

Features the first UK performances of Brahms’s arrangements of movements from Bach’s Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis, BWV 21, performed by the Faculty of Music Bach Ensemble, directed by Dr Martin Ennis.

Robert Pascall is Emeritus Professor in Music at the University of Nottingham. He has written historical and analytical studies of music from Bach to Schoenberg, with special interest in Brahms. He was Vice-Chair of the new Brahms Complete Edition 1991–2011, and is now on its Advisory Board. For this Edition he has edited the symphonies, including Brahms’s own arrangements of them for two pianos, four hands, and for one piano, four hands. He is Corresponding Director of the American Brahms Society. He has worked on historically informed performance of Brahms’s orchestral music with Thomas Dausgaard, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Sir Charles Mackerras and Sir Roger Norrington, among others. 

Wednesday, 4 February, 2015 - 17:00 to 19:00
Event location: 
5.00pm, West Road Concert Hall