skip to primary navigationskip to content

Composers' Workshop: Luke Bedford

When Oct 27, 2015
from 02:00 PM to 04:00 PM
Where 2.00pm, Recital Room at the Faculty of Music
Add event to calendar vCal

Luke Bedford

Luke Bedford was born in 1978 and studied composition at the Royal College of Music with Edwin Roxburgh and Simon Bainbridge.

His works range from chamber groups (e.g. the string quartet Of the Air), to ensemble, sometimes with voice (Good Dream She Has and Or Voit Tout En Aventure) and to full orchestra (Outblaze the Sky, Wreathe). Bedford was the first ever composer in residence at the Wigmore Hall in London, which has earned him several commissions, including the string quartet Nine Little Boxes, All Carefully Packed (2011).

In Feburary 2012 Wonderful Two-Headed Nightingale was given its world première by the Scottish Ensemble. Bedford was awarded the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung Composer’s Prize in music in the same year, and the world premières of Wonderful No-Headed Nightingale and Three Intermezzi took place.

On 28 October 2013, the Arditti String Quartet performed the world première of Wonderful Four-Headed Nightingale for string quartet at Wien Modern.

In 2014, his highly acclaimed opera Through His Teeth was premièred at the Royal Opera House.