skip to content

Faculty of Music


Haydn String Quartet, Op. 76 No. 4: Sunrise

Barber String Quartet, Op. 11

Brahms String Quartet No. 1, Op. 51 No. 1


Barber’s expressive quartet includes the Adagio, one of the twentieth century’s most loved pieces. Here in its original quartet form it has the intimacy and the extreme stretching of sonority that was part of its force in its original conception. Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ is as sun-

blessed as its nickname suggests. Brahms’s intense C minor masterpiece is the first quartet he allowed to be published after destroying dozens with which he was dissatisfied.

TICKETS: £27; OAPs: £25; reg. disabled: £13; students and under 16s: £6.

Wednesday, 16 May, 2018 - 19:30 to 21:30
Contact name: 
Cambridge Live Tickets
Contact phone: 
01223 357851
Event location: 
West Road Concert Hall