skip to content

Faculty of Music



Haydn Quartet in D minor, Op. 76 No. 2: Fifths
Mozart Quartet in A, K. 464: Drum
Tchaikovsky Quartet No. 2 in F, Op. 22

Drama and intensity abound in this late Haydn quartet. We follow it with the Mozart quartet which would seem to be the inspiration for the Beethoven we played in January – listen out for the stroke of genius towards the end of the variation movement. Tchaikovsky’s hugely rich and dark second quartet is perhaps his most satisfying chamber music work.

TICKETS: £27; OAP £25; registered disabled £13; students £6. Available from Cambridge Live Tickets. Tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Wednesday, 20 April, 2016 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall