skip to content

Faculty of Music


Mendelssohn Quartet in A minor, Op. 13
Webern Five Movements for String Quartet, Op. 5
Beethoven Quartet in F, Op. 59 No. 1: Razumovsky

The Op. 13 quartet is one of Mendelssohn’s most extraordinary and moving works – written at the age of eighteen with Beethoven constantly looking over the young man’s shoulder (metaphorically)! Webern’s five pieces are a miracle of brevity and expressiveness – they last just eight minutes. And in the second half we play the first of Beethoven’s quartets dedicated to Count Razumovsky – a symphony in all but name.

TICKETS: £27, £25 (OAP), £13 (reg. disabled), £6 (students, under 16s) available from Cambridge Live Tickets. Tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Wednesday, 24 February, 2016 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall