skip to content

Faculty of Music


Haydn String Quartet Op. 64 No. 6
Shostakovich String Quartet No. 8
Mendelssohn String Quartet Op. 44 No. 1

This concert will be in aid of ‘Help for Heroes’.

Shostakovich wrote his Eighth Quartet ‘in remembrance of the victims of fascism and war’. The Soviet authorities may have taken this to refer to World War II but he clearly intended it as a universal message. Its tragic power and directness of message are breathtaking and a huge contrast to the lyricism and wit of Haydn and the energy and brilliance of Mendelssohn.

TICKETS: @26, £24 (OAP), £12 (registered disabled), £5 (students and under 16s). Tickets over £10 will incur a £2.50 booking fee, and those under £10 will incur a £1.50 fee. Available from Cambridge Corn Exchange and City Centre Box Office, 2 Wheeler Street, Cambridge. Box Office tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Wednesday, 12 November, 2014 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall