skip to content

Faculty of Music


Beethoven String Quartet Op. 18 No. 3
Janáček String Quartet No. 1 (‘Kreutzer Sonata’)
Schubert String Quartet in G, D. 887

Schubert’s quartet in G is on a superhuman scale. Its titanic struggle between major and minor, and hope and despair create awe-inspiring music. In comparison the first of Janáček’s two quartets is brief. But with his unique tonality and idiom, and the introduction of ‘stream of consciousness’ music, he also sparked a musical revolution.

TICKETS: @26, £24 (OAP), £12 (registered disabled), £5 (students and under 16s). Tickets over £10 will incur a £2.50 booking fee, and those under £10 will incur a £1.50 fee. Available from Cambridge Corn Exchange and City Centre Box Office, 2 Wheeler Street, Cambridge. Box Office tel: 01223 357851; email:; web:

Wednesday, 21 January, 2015 - 19:30 to 22:00
Event location: 
7.30pm, West Road Concert Hall