skip to content

Faculty of Music


Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 3
Elspeth Brooke Swoop
Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 4
Judith Bingham The Neglected Child
Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 5: Spring
Huw Watkins Spring

Krysia Osostowicz, violin
Daniel Tong, piano

A Beethoven cycle with a difference: these two acclaimed artists present five new pieces for violin and piano, alongside the five Beethoven sonatas which inspired them. Arising from their close collaboration on the violin sonatas, Krysia and Daniel decided to invite ten composers to write short companion pieces, one for each of Beethoven’s sonatas. These new pieces will create a dialogue between past and present, letting audiences see how living composers respond to Beethoven. Played together with their new companions, Beethoven’s sonatas will also be heard afresh, as radical and provocative as they were 200 years ago. All the composers responded enthusiastically to the challenge and, apart from being assigned a particular sonata and given a time limit of five minutes, were all free to contribute in any way they liked.

TICKETS: £16; students £6. Available from University of Cambridge Online Store. Tel: 01223 748100; web:

Thursday, 12 May, 2016 - 20:00 to 22:00
Event location: 
8.00pm, Old Divinity School, St John's College