skip to primary navigationskip to content

New Music: Chapel Lates

When Feb 09, 2018
from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Where 10.00pm, King's College Chapel
Add event to calendar vCal

Friday, 9 February 2018
10.00pm, King’s College Chapel

Chapel Lates

Kaija Saariaho (b. 1952) Sept Papillons
Luciano Berio (1925–2003) Sequenza XIV for solo cello
J. S. Bach (1685–1750) Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011

Val Welbanks, solo cello

Val Welbanks, cellist of the Ligeti String Quartet (currently in residence at the Music Faculty) performs an eclectic mix of old and new in this late-night recital. Saariaho’s soundworld is remarkable for its delicacy, whilst Berio’s Sequenza, written shortly before his death, is the last in his landmark series of solo works.

TICKETS: £10; concessions: £5. Available from King’s College Visitor Centre and Box Office. T: 01223 769340; W:


Filed under: