skip to content

Faculty of Music


Thursday, 2 February 2017
8.00pm, West Road Concert Hall
6.45pm Pre-Concert talk: Mark Anthony Turnage in conversation with Richard Causton

This Silence: The Music of Mark Anthony Turnage

Mark Anthony Turnage Kai
Jonathan Woolgar New Work (world premiere)
John Hopkins The Book of Pictures (world premiere)
Mark Anthony Turnage This Silence

Cambridge University New Music Ensemble
Patrick Bailey, conductor
Joy Lisney, cello
Susannah Self, mezzo soprano

The Cambridge University New Music Ensemble, who have been working with Mark-Anthony Turnage, perform his cello concerto Kai (with soloist Joy Lisney) and This Silence. The concert will also feature the world premieres of John Hopkins’ Rilke settings, The Book of Pictures, and a new work by CUMS Composition Competition 2016 joint-winner, Jonathan Woolgar.

TICKETS: £15, £10; students: £3. Available from ADC Ticketing. T: 01223 300085; E:; W:

Thursday, 2 February, 2017 - 20:00 to 22:00
Event location: 
8.00pm, West Road Concert Hall