skip to content

Faculty of Music


Judith Weir guest composer
Hugh Brunt conductor
Britten Sinfonia musicians
Student musicians from the University of Cambridge

Bertie Baigent Mr Hetherington's Hat
Daniel-Lewis Fardon Break
Robert Laidlow Traveller of the Inferno
Joy Lisney Sinfonia Piccola
Rhiannon Randle Nachtgedanken
Alex Tay The Bleak Winter

A day-long workshop in which six shortlisted student composers from the University of Cambridge get a chance to work on new compositions, with advice from guest composer Judith Weir. An ensemble of Britten Sinfonia players and instrumentalists from the University of Cambridge will be conducted by Hugh Brunt.

Tickets are free but must be booked in advance via the booking link as capacity is limited.

Refreshments, including sandwiches and hot and cold drinks, will be available to buy from the West Road Concert Hall bar on the day.