skip to content

Zoology Late: Acoustic Spaces / Threatened Places

Friday 31 January 2020, 7.30pm


John Luther Adams The Light that Fills the World
Benjamin Graves The Visions of Elizabeth Barton (CUMS Composer in Residence 2019-20)
Kaija Saariaho Terrestre
Grisey Périodes

University of Cambridge New Music Group
Darren Bloom conductor

Tickets: £12

Students: £3

In one way or another all of the composers featured here are concerned with the world and their place in it. Therefore, a concert in the museum of Zoology – which starkly reminds us what tiny a percentage of Natural History Humans inhabit – is apt. John Luther Adams’ preoccupation with the wide-open vistas of his homeland of Alaska, Benjamin Graves’ interest in societal issues and Kaija Saariaho and Grisey’s focus on the building blocks of sound itself come together to create a concert which scrutinises what it means to be a very small member of a very large world.